PGSA New Committee Meeting 18 April 2013, 1st meeting of 1st elected committee

chair: Kari Frank

secretary: Jignesh Mehta

members: Reza Afra Rich Brosius

Katie Davis (absent: at Argonne)

David Garand (absent: prior travel arrangements)

Andy Hesselbrock

Jie Hui Ran Li

Antoine Martin Bob Niffenegger Kelsie Niffenegger

Jacques Pienaar Kevin Ralphs

Harshad Sahasrabudhe

Valentyn Stadnytskyi (absent: personal reasons)

Lingshan Xu

elections held

agenda: officer elections

(Elected candidates' names are **bold**.

* denotes appointment by default rather than by election)

president:

- 1. David Garand
- 2. Bob Niffenegger*

treasurer:

- 1. Reza Afra
- 2. Andy Hesselbrock
- 3. Jacques Pienaar

secretary:

- 1. David Garand
- 2. Antoine Martin*
- 3. Jacques Pienaar

webmaster:

- 1. Reza Afra
- 2. Jie Hui
- 3. Ran Li
- 4. Harshad Sahasrabudhe

computer representative (PCN):

- 1. Rich Brosius
- 2. Ran Li
- 3. Kelsie Niffenegger
- 4. Kevin Ralphs
- 5. Harshad Sahasrabudhe

PGSG senator:

- 1. Rich Brosius
- 2. Andy Hesselbrock

research progress & human resources:

1. David Garand*

teaching & professional development:

1. Kelsie Niffenegger*

community building:

- 1. Andy Hesselbrock
- 2. Lingshan Xu

seminar series:

- 1. Reza Afra
- 2. Ran Li
- 3. Valentyn Stadnytskyi

suggestion: New committee should find a better way to run elections.

—reminder: Schedule meeting with Professors Giordano & Nakanishi.

- → Bob
- → Jacques
- → Antoine

New secretary Antoine must submit list of new officers. (Jacques will help; old committee might need to be involved).

Create a summer calendar.

—Professors Fischbach and Hirsch (faculty advisors) should get a list of new officers

Spira Award discussion

nominations:

- 1. Prof. Love
- 2. Prof. Molnar

Professor Love wins after votes.